International Basic Sciences Knowledge Contest

Scientists of completed olympiads

Jores Ivanovich Alferov

Zhores Ivanovich Alferov is a Soviet and Russian physicist and academic who contributed significantly to the creation of modern heterostructure physics and electronics. He is the inventor of the heterotransistor and the winner of 2000 Nobel Prize in Physics. He is also a Russian politician and has been a member of the lower house of the Russian parliament the State Duma, since 1995.

Jan-Lyuk Moro

Jean-Luc Moreau is a famous French poet, linguist and translator.

Geyn Nina Aronovna
Computer science
Yuriy Aleksandrovich Zolotov

Yuri Aleksandrovich Zolotov

Academician of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Doctor of Chemical Sciences, Professor. Adviser of the RAS, Head of the Department of Analytical Chemistry of the Faculty of Chemistry, Moscow State University named after M.V. Lomonosov, Senior Research Worker of Institute of General and Non-Organic Chemistry named after N.S. Kurnakov of the RAS (IGNCh). Deputy Academician-Secretary of the Department of Chemistry and Sciences about Materials of the RAS.

Viktor Yuzefovich Dragunsky
International Contest «Russian as a foreign language»

, актёр

Olivia Judith (Judi) Dench

Dame Judith Olivia Dench, CH, DBE, FRSA is an English actress. Dench made her professional debut in 1957 with the Old Vic Company. Over the following few years, she performed in several of Shakespeare's plays in such roles as Ophelia in Hamlet, Juliet in Romeo and Juliet, and Lady Macbeth in Macbeth. Although most of her work during this period was in theatre, she also branched into film work and won a BAFTA Award as Most Promising Newcomer. She drew strong reviews for her leading role in the musical Cabaret in 1968.

Nikolay Drozdov

Nikolay Drozdov is a Soviet and Russian zoologistг, Doctor of Biological Sciences, Candidate of Geographical Sciences, professor of Moscow State University, social activist, TV and radio host. He is a member of an expert board of national award Crystal Compass, member of media board of Russian Geographical society. Since 1975, he is an anchor of Animals’ World.

Jacek Edward Pałkiewicz

Jacek Edward Pałkiewicz is an Italian and Polish explorer and journalist, member of the Russian Geographical society and of the Royal Geographical Society. He visited all latitudes of the Earth, obtaining documentary evidences of the culture of disappearing folks, ploughed to hard-to-reach places during his searches of last untouched oases, for which he wanted to prove that they are still existing and we shall take all measures to keep them.

Computer science

Niklaus Emil Wirth (born 15 February 1934) is a Swiss computer scientist, best known for designing several programming languages, including Pascal, and for pioneering several classic topics in software engineering. In 1984 he won the Turing Award, generally recognized as the highest distinction in computer science, for developing a sequence of innovative computer languages.


Aleksey Ivanovich Ivanov is a Russian writer, screenwriter, culturologist, winner of the Yasnaya Polyana, Big Book, Book of the Year, and others prizes.

Pierre René Deligne

Pierre René Deligne is a Belgian mathematician. He is famous due to his works related to Weyl hypotheses, which were completely proved in 1973. Abel Prize winner 2013.

Cornelia Funke

Cornelia Funke is a German writer, author of books for children, for which she gained a lot of award. Chiefly, she writes fantasy. Her books are very popular in Germany as well as translated into some languages, including Russian.


Doctor of Philology, professor, full member (academician) of the Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS) in the Section of Literature and Language of the Department of History and Philology, member of the Parisian Linguistic Society, Corresponding Member of the Göttingen Academy of Sciences.

Jean-Jacques Sempé

Jean-Jacques Sempé is a French satirical draughtsman. He is an author of more than 30 collections of pictures, published in 30 world countries.

Sir Andre Geim

Sir Andre Geim — Soviet, Dutch and British physical scientist, Nobel prize winner in physics 2010 года (together with Konstantin Novoselov), Fellow of the Royal Society of London, primarily famous as one of developers of the first graphene production method. 

Dudley Robert Herschbach

Dudley Robert Herschbach is an American chemist, winner of Nobel prize in chemistry1986 “for achievements in development of researches of elementary chemical processes dynamics”.


Andrei Vladimirovich Golovnev - Russian anthropologist, Doctor of Historical Sciences, Professor, Corresponding Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS), Chief Researcher of the Institute of History and Archeology of the Ural Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences (ethnohistory sector), Editor-in-Chief of the "Ural Historical Herald", Director of the Ethnographic Bureau, President of the Russian Anthropological Festival films (Ekaterinburg), film director, poet, musician.

Bases of safety of life activity

Anatoly Tikhonovich Smirnov is an academician of the IABE, a colonel of aviation, the author of the most widely published in Russia manuals on OBZH.